When You Realize Mom was Right…

AngFmngCMAAA7WZ

My mom and dad with me as a baby

Now that I am about to turn 21, I am able to look back on my childhood and see it through the eyes of an adult. Instead of seeing the indestructible, always right, totally-with-it me, I now can see what a stereotypical kid I was. To make it worse, I was stubborn as all hell so when I was told to do something, I fought tooth and nail. Nowadays, I catch myself more often in everyday situations saying “Wow, mom really was right…” Whether or not you choose to admit it to your mom is up to you, but you can’t deny that we all have these moments. It happened to me today when I was doing my makeup, which inspired this little post.

My mom was right when she told me:

Your makeup is too dark. When I was first venturing out into the makeup world as a freshman in high school, I insisted on drawing on a nice, thick, dark black line all around my eyes. It was what I saw everyone else doing, and I was not going to have it any other way. Today, my liquid eyeliner ran out, so I switched to my pencil (which is a softer black) and I realized it really does look much better. I could almost hear my mom’s voice as I did my eyes. “Less is more Holly, you don’t want to look like a raccoon”

Any financial advice whatsoever. My mom is AMAZING when it comes to handling money. She is the one in charge of our taxes and savings and pretty much knows it better than the banks. Any time I wanted the super expensive, brand new item, she always had to talk me down into finding the half priced equivalent that did the exact same thing.

“What one man can do, another can do”. I used to hate hearing this when I was growing up. More often than not, she was referring to my grades in school saying that I can do better. Now I say to myself while I am in my nursing classes to make myself feel better when I am feeling helpless for an upcoming test.

535738_307440569331626_1815482606_n

The little bro and I growing up

Brand names are not worth it. I remember when the UGGS and North Face jacket fad was going on when I was in middle school. It killed me that my mom wouldn’t get them for me; not even for Christmas. Instead, I got a jacket that looked like a North Face and some fake UGGS (which I called FUGGS.) I used to think that this was unacceptable but I now see that nobody knew the difference. Not even me a few weeks after wearing them.

Be nice to your brother, he is the only person who will always be there for you. Out of anything else that I have listed, this is the most significant. Me and my brother are extremely close in age, and are seriously best friends. When we are in public people ask us if we are dating, that’s how well we get along. I would do anything for him and I know he would do the same for me. Growing up, we had our fights like any other siblings and I can honestly say I feel bad about all the times I was mean to him.

What was your mom right about when you were growing up? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

