Pancakes in a Mug

1966840_595610807181266_1626280553_n

I personally don’t understand how so many people are able to skip breakfast and function normally for the first half of the day. Ever since I was in high school, breakfast has been a necessary start to my day. If I don’t eat something before I leave for my classes, my morning feels thrown off and my stomach is loud as hell until I eat lunch.

Breakfasts and desserts always end up being the best “in a mug” recipes for me. One Sunday morning, I was trying to decide if I was willing to get my pans dirty and clean up the mess from a round of pancakes. My laziness won and I ended up just heating the batter in the microwave to see if the results were edible. A great idea was born that day.

Ingredients:

• 1 tablespoon butter

• 2 tablespoons milk (buttermilk works best, but any kind will work fine)

• 2 ½ tablespoons applesauce

• 1 tablespoon sweetener (I used white sugar, but honey, agave nectar, raw sugar works)

• ¼ cup flour

• ½ teaspoon baking powder

• ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

• Dash of salt

• Maple syrup

• Any additional flavors: chocolate chips, blueberries, nuts, peanutbutter…

Instructions:1907577_595610760514604_1676776588_n

1. Melt butter in a ceramic mug

2. Add in the milk, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir until thoroughly mixed.

3. Add in the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Mix that shizz all together

4. If you wanted any additional flavors, go ahead and add those in now.

5. Microwave for 1 minute. You may or may not need to add more time depending on the microwave you have.

6. Let cool for one minute, slap on the syrup and go for it

 

It gets even better if you already have a box of premade pancake mix. All you need is:

• ¼ cup of mix

• 1/8 cup of milk

1. Mix together in mug and microwave for 1 minute.

It seriously doesn’t get easier than that

 

This recipe is great for a lazy weekend morning when you are cooking for one, don’t want to get your pans dirty, or just don’t feel like leaving your dorm to go to breakfast. If you want to have it on a busier morning, you can make the batter up in the cup the night before (leaving out the baking powder) and refrigerate until morning. When you wake up, take it out of the fridge to come to room temperature for about 10 min, add the baking soda, and microwave.

Let me know how this recipe worked for you in the comments below!

 

4 thoughts on “Pancakes in a Mug

  1. I’m one of those people who never ate breakfast. Whenever I ate breakfast as soon as I wake up, I get this stomach flu feeling. BUT this recipe looks too good that I will risk the stomach pains. Thanks for posting it =)) (I’m trying to learn how to bake stuff. Lol)

    Like

Leave a Reply

